Recognising acts of bravery by bestowing awards on those who risk their lives to save others.

The Society

Photo of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Photo credit: PRESS ASSOCIATION / Danny Lawson


Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Society Patron

Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC QC,
Governor of New South Wales

The Society is most grateful for the Vice-Regal patronage it is accorded by Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC QC, Governor of New South Wales. Her interest in the Society’s work and her great support are much appreciated.


Mr Donald McDonald AC


Mrs Beatrice Gray

Vice Chairman

Ms. Dianne Truss

Hon. Treasurer

Mr Chris Honey


Major General The Honourable Justice Clifton Hoeben AM RFD (Ret’d)

Colonel Alexander (Fred) Dangar (Ret’d)

Commissioner Michael Fuller APM, NSW Police Force

Commissioner Paul Baxter QSO, Fire and Rescue NSW

Commissioner Dominic Morgan ASM, NSW Ambulance

Commissioner Rob Rogers AFSM, NSW Rural Fire Service

Commissioner Carlene York APM, NSW State Emergency Services

Mr David Turner

Honorary Secretary & Public Officer

Mr Peter Stathis AFSM

Assistant Secretary

Mr Michael Delman

Honorary Publicity Officer

Major John Hoban (Ret’d)

Life Governors

Major General Raymond Sharp AO RFD ED (Ret’d)

Mr Alan Batley AM

Mr Stewart Doyle

Vice Admiral I.D. Mac Dougall AC AFSM RAN (Ret’d)

Rear Admiral The Honourable Alwynne Rowlands AO RFD QC RANR (Ret’d)

Rear Admiral Anthony Hunt AO RAN (Ret’d)

Life Members

Captain Frank M. Williamson

Mr Robert May APM

Major Roland Millbank MA MPhil JP


Mr James Hanney

Honorary Solicitors

Mr A.J. McMinn LLM

Norton Rose Fulbright Australia (Specialist Legal Advice)


Mr Mark O’Connor BCom CA CIA

Cutcher & Neale Assurance Pty Ltd


Latest recipients

Retained Firefighter Shane Green awarded a Certificate of Merit

Sergeant Tyrone Stacey awarded a Silver Medal

Paramedic Officer Sandra Macken awarded a Bronze Medal