The Galleghan Award

The Galleghan Award was instituted in 1996 and recognises what the Society considers to have been the most outstanding act of bravery in the year.

It is designated by a bar reading "Galleghan Award" affixed to the ribbon of the medal award.

The award is named after Brigadier Sir Frederick Galleghan DSO OBE ISO ED, who was the Society's Secretary from 1958 until his death in 1971.

Sir Frederick was twice wounded in the Great War, and was awarded the Distinguished Service Order in the Second World War for his leadership and gallantry when commanding the 2/30th Battalion at the battle of Gemas in Malaya.

2016/01 - Mr. Darren ROGERS
for his actions in rescuing a male following a shark attack at Shelley Beach, Ballina, NSW (2478) on Monday 9 February 2015 at approximately 10.00am

2014/03 - Mr Andrew COCHRANE
for the actions at a petrol tanker fire at Mona Vale Road, Mona Vale NSW 2103 on Tuesday 1 October 2013.

2012/13 - Mr Rowan CUTBUSH
for his actions in the rescue of a female after a shark attack on 16 March 2011, off Nelson Head at Port Stephens, NSW 2315.

2011/12 - Liam Francis Kelly
for his actions in the rescue of a man from heavy seas at Brunswick Heads, NSW on 4 February 2009.

2010/11 - Julian Shaw
for the rescue of a man who fell on railway tracks at Lisarow, NSW on 19 October 2007.

2009/10 - Senior Constable Andrew James Mayfield
for the rescue of a woman attempting suicide from a hotel balcony in the Sydney CBD, NSW on 25 November 2007.

2008/09 - Naomi Roskell
for the rescue of 7 persons trapped in floodwaters at New Lambton, NSW on 8 June 2007.

2007/08 - Paul Kernick and Matthew U’Brien
for his actions in the rescue of a man from a cliff face at Mt Wilson, NSW on 3 September 2005.

2006/07 - Clayton Ashley Harris
for his actions in the rescue of a woman from the surf at Red Rock NSW on 11 September 2004.

2005/06 - Oguz (Alex) Taskun
for his actions in the apprehension of a violent offender at Auburn on 19 April 2004.

2004/05 - Joshua Carew
for his actions at the scene of a house fire at Doyalson on 26 July 2004.

2003/04 - Rod Harvey
for the rescue of a man from the sea at Coffs Harbour on 27 January 2002.

2002/03 - Lawrence John Emerson
for the rescue of two persons from a house fire at Ulladulla on 15 June 2000.

2001/02 - Paul Gregory Winston
for the rescue of a man from the surf at South Shellharbour Beach on 23 March 2001.

2000/01 - Dr Richard Morris, Paul John Feathersone, Christopher Valan Wilkinson
for their actions during rescue operations following the Thredbo land slip, August 1997.

1999/00 - Robert Ginn
for his actions at the scene of a home unit fire at Goulburn on February 1999.